EN - Bye Bye Singapore! - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Lars Lier - WaarBenJij.nu EN - Bye Bye Singapore! - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Lars Lier - WaarBenJij.nu

EN - Bye Bye Singapore!

Door: Lars van Lier

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lars

28 November 2014 | Singapore, Singapore

After a little less than 4 months, life in Singapore is coming to an end for me. This week I did my exam and with that my semester is over. But luckily my week wasn’t all about studying..

This week I also spent quite some time with the people from the hostel, because everyone Is starting to either go home or go travelling. On Friday night we had a couple of beers with a couple of friends, and last Saturday Sinterklaas (our Dutch version of Santa) came to visit Singapore. For that reason, we did secret Santa with the 10 Dutch students in the hostel. We all drew lots and had to make a poem for the person we drew and we had to buy them gifts. In addition to that we also had some candy left from our order from a couple of weeks ago, so all ingredients for a great night were present! Everyone had to read their poem standing on their stool and wearing the symbolical beard (a plastic bag). This often resulted in nosey people from surrounding tables looking in our direction. There were a lot of nice poems and gifts, and the beers tasted good. All in all a great night!

On Sunday I went to the cinema with some friends (to Interstellar) and when the weekend was over, it was time to start studying again. My exam was on Wednesday morning, and as expected, it was pretty easy, so I probably passed that course. For one course I already received my grades (and those were pretty good) but for the others the grades will be appearing in the next couple of weeks.

On Wednesday and yesterday evening we went out with some friends to celebrate the beginning of our holidays, and tonight we’ll be having dinner with a bunch of friends, after which we’ll be going out, and on Saturday it’s finally there: my big trip. I’m gonna travel for 7 weeks, and I’ve been working on the rough lines of my plan in the past couple of weeks. Tomorrow, I’ll be going to Bangkok in Thailand with Clément (with whom I already travelled a couple of times). There we’ll meet two Dutch guys from our hostel here, who will probably be joining us until Vietnam. We’re staying in Bangkok for a couple of days, after which we’re taking a bus to Cambodia. We will stay there until the 10th of December, and then we’ll be travelling through Vietnam until the 23rd of December. From there, Clément will be flying off to the Philippines, whereas I will fly to Laos where I’ll find some new travelling buddies. I will stay there until the 31st of December, and then I’m flying back to Bangkok to celebrate New Year. After New Year’s day I’m gonna travel through North-Thailand for a bit less than a week, and then I will end my trip by going to Myanmar for about a week and a half. I posted a picture of my plan in the Dutch version of this post.

I’ve gotta say that I’m a bit nervous to go backpacking for that long, but I’m really looking forward to it. And I’m sure I will be seeing and experiencing lots of great things. I’ll try to keep you updated in the next couple of weeks!

See you next time!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lars

Ik ga voor mijn huidige opleiding, International Business in Maastricht, studeren in Singapore. Vanuit daar ga ik de rest van Zuidoost-Azië verkennen. Via deze blog houd ik jullie op de hoogte van het leven in het verre Oosten.

Actief sinds 10 Juli 2014
Verslag gelezen: 225
Totaal aantal bezoekers 16685

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

Studeren in Singapore

Landen bezocht: