EN - Halloween, Sinterklaas, and rain - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Lars Lier - WaarBenJij.nu EN - Halloween, Sinterklaas, and rain - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Lars Lier - WaarBenJij.nu

EN - Halloween, Sinterklaas, and rain

Door: Lars van Lier

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lars

12 November 2014 | Singapore, Singapore

After a lot of hard work, I can finally say that I practically finished my semester in Singapore. In the last two weeks, I’ve had 4 presentations, as well as 4 individual assignments and 5 group projects, but after today I can finally take it easy again. The only thing left is an exam in two weeks, but that’s probably not gonna cause any difficulties, and to be honest I don’t wanna think about it just yet.

The last couple of weeks I’ve spent quite some time in the library, but I also still tried to do some fun stuff and enjoy my time here. Last week Friday (so not last Friday) it was Halloween, and since everything with any commercial potential is being exploited in Singapore, it was celebrated here too. So we tried to go to a couple of clubs (without dressing up), but after seeing the queues we decided to go to the Clarke Quay bridge. We did see this guy dressed up as Pikachu, so he did make our night a little better. The bridge was packed too, and when we weren’t able to find half of our group we decided to go back home. All in all a bit disappointing.

The day after Halloween we went to the beach on Sentosa with a couple of guys to chill out for a day. There we played some football and beach volleyball, but we didn’t swim a lot since the water is pretty disgusting there. It was a nice day to clear my head, but also one of the last days to enjoy the weather in Singapore, for the weather has been pretty bad lately.

It’s becoming more and more apparent why they call this time of the year raining season. It’s raining almost every day now, sometimes accompanied with thunder. The temperature has cooled down as well, but that’s not really a bad thing. However, the prospects are great! Tonight, we’re flying to Bali (which I will cover in my blog next week) and in two-and-a-half weeks I’ll be going towards Thailand.

The prospects for Saturday next week are also good, because that night we will be celebrating Sinterklaas with the Dutchies in our hostel. Everyone drew a lot and must make a poem and buy a $10 (€6) present for the person they drew. A couple of weeks ago we also ordered some typical Sinterklaas-snacks and some other Dutch snacks. These arrived last week Tuesday, however I already finished my bit of the order.. Luckily we’re still saving some chocolate letters and pepernoten (gingerbread cookies) for that night.

Furthermore, the room division changed again last week. One of the Korean lads in my room left, whereas one Chinese guy joined. So we’re still three. I’ve hated this Chinese guy from the moment I met him. When I introduced myself to him, he was more interested in what he was doing on his phone and therefore he didn’t feel like answering my questions or asking me any. So I only know his name and where he’s from, and quite frankly I can’t be arsed to get to know any more about him.

Those were my experiences, prospects, and mild frustrations for now! In a couple of hours we’ll be heading off to Bali where I’ll definitely enjoy my time until next week!

See you next week!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lars

Ik ga voor mijn huidige opleiding, International Business in Maastricht, studeren in Singapore. Vanuit daar ga ik de rest van Zuidoost-Azië verkennen. Via deze blog houd ik jullie op de hoogte van het leven in het verre Oosten.

Actief sinds 10 Juli 2014
Verslag gelezen: 236
Totaal aantal bezoekers 16648

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

Studeren in Singapore

Landen bezocht: