EN - My first couple of days - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Lars Lier - WaarBenJij.nu EN - My first couple of days - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van Lars Lier - WaarBenJij.nu

EN - My first couple of days

Door: Lars van Lier

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lars

04 Augustus 2014 | Singapore, Singapore

Here’s my first blog about my first couple of days. I’m gonna try and keep everything as short and sweet as possible, because I’m also not the kind of person that enjoys to read for half an hour.

On the 1st of August, I departed to Singapore at around 11.30 AM local time from Amsterdam. After a peaceful flight of more than 12 hours we landed in Singapore at around 6 AM local time (6 hours later than in the Netherlands). Then, I went straight to the immigrations office to collect my student visa. The counter officers were very rude, and I spent a total of 1,5 hour waiting for my student card.

After this, I took the subway to my hostel, yo:ha @ Henderson, on 98 Henderson Road. Here, I got a warm welcome from the guard, who then gave me a tour around the premises. She also introduced me to 3 Dutch guys from the University of Delft. I joined them to the IKEA to purchase some sheets, a pillow, and towels, since these were not present at arrival. After we got back, I took a nap for a couple of hours, since I had been travelling for about 27 hours straight. I also joined them the day after to purchase some useful stuff and to explore Singapore.
I’m in a room with 3 Korean guys. Unfortunately, they’re not really talkative, so I actually hope that I can change rooms to stay with a German guy from my school. The room itself is okay. It is clean and everyone’s got enough space for themselves.
After my afternoon/night nap I went into town to see my cousin Maartje and her friend Minke, who were waiting for me. We had a nice dinner and a couple of drinks with them, and afterwards we strolled through the Marina Bay for a bit.
I’m very impressed by Singapore. Everything’s huge here, and the buildings are very modern. Each square meter is being used to construct flats, offices, or hotels. The people are generally very kind and helpful (except for the officers at the immigrations office). The currency here is the Singapore dollar. 1 euro is equivalent to 1,61 SGD. The prices they charge here are fairly rounded (instead of 1,97 etc.) and that makes paying more convenient. The subways and busses are well organized and this allows you to get from A to B quickly.

I do have to get used to the climate here. During the day, it is around 30 degrees Celsius, and at night it won’t get much colder than 24 degrees. It’s important to drink sufficiently, and the aircons that are present everywhere are no excess.

So far for my first couple of days in Singapore. I hope it was short and sweet enough for you ;). If you can still think of people that would like to read my blog via their e-mails, please let me know!

Pictures can be viewed in my Dutch version of this blog!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lars

Ik ga voor mijn huidige opleiding, International Business in Maastricht, studeren in Singapore. Vanuit daar ga ik de rest van Zuidoost-Azië verkennen. Via deze blog houd ik jullie op de hoogte van het leven in het verre Oosten.

Actief sinds 10 Juli 2014
Verslag gelezen: 304
Totaal aantal bezoekers 16633

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2014 - 18 Januari 2015

Studeren in Singapore

Landen bezocht: